Google Ads Glossary: 190+ Terms Explained


Active View: Active View is a technology used by Google Ads to determine if an ad is viewable by potential customers. The active view is related to YouTube, several Display Network websites, and mobile apps. You will find this term in display-specific reports.

Account Budget: An account Budget is an option where you can specify a set amount of money that you’d like your Google Ads account to spend over a fixed period. This option is accessible for advertisers who practice monthly invoicing payment settings.

Ad Delivery:  Ad delivery is a setting through which you control how Google uses your budget each day, i.e., either spread throughout the day (standard) or spend it more quickly (accelerated). This setting also affects when your ads are likely to show during the day.

1. Ad Delivery (Accelerated): Google tries to show your ads more swiftly until your budget exhausts. This option can lead to budget exhaustion even before the day ends. Hence, your ads can stop showing early in the day.

Check out our article on Google Data Feed here.

2. Ad Delivery (Standard):  This is the default option for each ad campaign in Google Ads unless you choose to accelerate. Google tries to distribute your ads throughout the day and makes sure that your budget lasts until the end of the day.

If you are looking for an eCommerce glossary & terms, you can check out it from our site here. 

Ad Extensions: Extensions enhance your ad with added information, thereby building better trust in people to choose your business. Extension formats comprise call buttons, location information, links to specific parts of your website, additional text, etc. Google automatically adds extensions to your ads given they improve the chance of a user clicking on your ad. Alternatively, you can manually add extensions too.

1. Manual Extensions:

-> App Extensions

-> Call Extensions

-> Location Extensions

-> Review Extensions

-> Sitelinks Extensions

-> Callout Extensions

-> Structured Snippets

-> Price Extensions

2. Automated Extension

-> Automated Call Extensions

-> Automated Location Extensions

-> Consumer Rating Extensions

-> Previous Visits Extensions

-> Seller Rating Extensions

-> Dynamic Sitelink Extensions

-> Dynamic Structured Snippets 

Ad Formats: Ad Formats are visual enhancements to search ads. They display your business information such as a contact number, consumer ratings, and your site’s domain in the headline. You can either add these upgrades manually or Google’s automated formatting systems can add them for you. Ad Extensions are a type of Ad Formats.

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Ad Group: An Ad Group is a set of ads and keywords that are related to each other (search network). An Ad Group is a set of ads and placements that are associated with each other (display network).

Ad Group Default Bids: Ad Group Default Bid is an amount that Google Ads applies to those keywords and placements that don’t have individual bids in an ad group. The bid amount is your maximum cost per click (Max CPC).

Ad Position: Ad Position is the order in which your ad appears on Google’s search results page. Ad Positions 1-4 are on the top of the page, while 5-11 are placed on the right and at the bottom.

Ad Preview and Diagnosis Tool: Ad Preview and Diagnosis Tool is an accessory that helps you identify why your ad or ad extension might not be performing. The tool also presents a preview of a Google search result page for a particular term.

Ad Rank: Ad Rank is a number that Google Ads uses to decide your ad position on the search results page. Ad Ranks also determine whether your ads will show at all. Google Ads calculates Ad Rank using your bid amount, the components of Quality Score (expected click-through rate, ad relevance, and landing page experience), and the expected impact of extensions, and other ad formats.

Ad Rank = Your Max CPC Bid x Your Quality Score x Other Factors

Ad Relevance: Ad Relevance is a status assigned by Google to keywords in your campaigns. Ad Relevance can be “below average,” “average,” or “above average.” Ad Relevance lets Google measure how well your keywords match the text on your ad copy.

Ad Rotation Settings: Ad rotation is the way Google delivers your ads. It is the same on both the Search Network and the Display Network. If you have multiple ads within an ad group, your ads will rotate because no more than one ad from your account can show at a time. You can use the ad rotation setting to specify how often you’d like Google to serve the ads in your ad group relative to one another. There are four ad rotation types:

  • Optimize for Clicks (Default): This ad rotation type shows the ad that consistently receives the most clicks more often than the ads that receive fewer clicks.
  • Optimize for Conversions: Optimize for Conversions type shows the ad that consistently has a higher conversion rate more often than the ads that have a lower conversion rate.
  • Rotate Evenly: When you select Rotate Evenly option, you tell Google to show the ads evenly for a given period (90 days) and then switch to the ads that had the most clicks.
  • Rotate Indefinitely: Rotate Indefinitely type shows your ads evenly till you change the option. It shows both low-performing and high-performing ads uniformly. Hence, it is very important to select this option only when you have worked out how the results could be.

Ad Scheduling: Ad Scheduling lets you select the specific time, and day to run your ads. Ad Scheduling is an excellent option if you want Google to show your ads only during your business hours. You can set up Ad Scheduling by following a few easy steps.

Ad Status: Ad Status is a simple description of whether an ad is approved by Google to run, and if so, whether there are any policy restrictions on how or when it can run.

AdSense: AdSense is a free tool that Google built to enable website owners to host ads of different advertisers on their site to make money off ads.

Advertising Policies: Advertising Policies are the guidelines that Google laid down for ads, keywords, and websites in Google Ads. Ads that violate these policies will be disapproved. Google Ads Policy Center has a list of all these policies.

Ad Variations: Ad variations are multiple versions of an ad for a single product or service, all based on the same set of keywords. Variations are an excellent way to test many versions of the same message, particularly to see which works best with potential customers. One advantage of using ad variations is that Google Ads can automatically show the best-performing ad.

Google Ads API: Google Ads API is an advanced feature that lets professional Google Ads users build custom applications to communicate and make adjustments to their Google Ads campaigns. To get access to the API, you need a Google Ads Manager account.

Google Ads Editor: Google Ads Editor is a free application for users who handle large accounts. Users can download campaigns, make changes and upload the changes to Google Ads using this tool.

Google Ads Promotional Coupon Code: Google and Google partners sometimes distribute promotional codes for Google Ads advertising. You can use these specials to redeem the credit. The credit gets applied to your Google Ads account.

All Conversions: All Conversions is the total of all the conversions Google Ads drives for your business. All Conversions includes the data in the “Conversions” column and conversion actions that advertisers choose not to add in this column. It also includes cross-device conversions, store visits, phone calls, etc.

Alternate Email Address: Google prompts you to add an alternative email address right when you create your Google Ads account. The alternate email address helps you use Google Ads if you forget your original login details or your primary email gets hacked or shut down for some reason.

Analytics: Google Analytics is a free web analytics service offered by Google. You can get a better understanding of your customer behavior using this tool.

Approved: When your Google Ads ads abide by the policies laid down by Google, the status of these changes to “Approved.”

Approved (Adult): When an ad’s content is suitable only for adults, the status Google gives is “Approved (Adult).” Usually sexually explicit and graphic material falls under this category.

Approved (Limited): Ads that include content related to topics that aren’t universal such as gambling, specific healthcare campaigns (like erectile dysfunction, hair transplant), etc., Google gives them “Approved (Limited)” status.

Approved (Non-Family): Ads that contain nudity or mature content which aren’t suitable for kids to fall under the “Approved (Non-Family)” category.

Auto-tagging: Auto-tagging is an advanced feature that helps advertisers sync their Google Ads and Analytics accounts to import and export data easily. Advertisers need to enable this feature manually; it isn’t a pre-selected option.

Automated Rules: Automated rules let you make changes to your account automatically, based on the settings and conditions you choose. You can change your ad status, budget, bids, and more. However, you have to define the maximum and the minimum budget spends for better results.

Automatic Bidding: Automatic bidding is a feature that lets Google adjust your bids. There are six bidding strategies from which you can choose. These bidding approaches include Maximize Clicks, Target Search Page Location, Target Outranking Share, Target CPA, Enhanced Cost-Per-Click (ECPC), Target Return on Ad Spend and Maximize Conversions.

Automatic Payments: Automatic Payments setting in Google Ads lets Google charge the advertising costs that you’ve accrued automatically to your payment method. Google charges you either 30 days after your last payment or when your advertising costs reach your billing threshold, i.e. the amount you’ve set that triggers the bill.

Automatic Placements: Automatic Placements is a Google Ads term popular among advertisers who use Display Network. It is associated with different web pages, videos, and mobile apps where your ads are shown automatically based on the targeting you’ve selected.

Average Cost-Per-Click (Avg. CPC): The Average Cost-Per-Click is the average of the amount that Google charges advertisers for a click on their ad. To calculate average cost-per-click (Avg. CPC), divide the total cost of clicks by the total number of clicks. If you get 1,000 clicks at a total cost of $100, the Avg. CPC is $0.10.

Average Position (Avg. Pos.): Average Position statistics show you the position of your ads compared to other ads on average. The highest rank is 1. According to Google, positions 1-8 typically mean you will end up on the first page of search results, 9-16 are on the second page, and so on.


Below First Page Bid: Below First Page Bid is a keyword alert. It indicates that your keyword bid is too low to get your ad on the first page of Google search.

Below the Fold: If any content or an ad on your website is placed only after scrolling down, then that material is said to appear “below the fold” or “below the scroll.”

Bid Adjustment: Bid Adjustment is a Google Ads feature that allows advertisers to set the frequency of their ads and to adjust the bids based on the user location, device, or time of the day.

Below mentioned are three essential bid adjustments in Google Ads:

=>Device-Level Bid Adjustments

=>Ad Scheduling Bid Adjustments

=>Location-Based Bid Adjustments

Billing Threshold: The billing Threshold is the amount that you set to trigger a bill when reached. In other words, the Billing Threshold is the limit that intimates Google Ads to generate your spend statement. The billing Threshold is only applicable if you have set automatic payments.

Bounce Rate: Bounce Rate is the measure of visitors who leave (bounce off) your website after visiting just one page.

Broad Match: Broad Match is a keyword match type setting in Google Ads. Broad match lets a keyword trigger your ad to show whenever someone searches for that phrase, similar phrases, singular or plural forms, misspellings, synonyms, stemming (such as floor and flooring), related searches, and other relevant variations. Learn more about the broad match in our broad match guide.

Broad Match Modifier: Broad Match Modifier is a keyword match type setting in Google Ads. The broad match modifier has a similar benefit as the broad match concerning audience reach, but it enables advertisers to control the triggering of ads better. An advertiser can add a plus sign (+) before a word in the keyword/phrase, meaning, the add is shown only when the search query contains that specific word on which we used a plus sign (+). When a keyword is set under a broad match modifier, the order of words in the search query is not a priority. Learn more about the broad match modifiers in our broad match modifier guide.

Budget Order: Budget Order is the previous name for Account Budget.

Bulk Edits: Bulk Edits is a method to edit more than one item in your account at the same time. Bulk editing helps you save time by either simultaneously updating multiple items in one campaign or across various campaigns.


Cache: Cache is a temporary storage area (a web browser) where websites store data for quick retrieval.

Call Extensions: Call Extensions is a Google Ads feature that allows advertisers to include phone numbers in their ad texts, thus helping users make phone calls for further inquiry effortlessly.

Callout Extensions: The callout Extensions feature lets advertisers include additional text which appears on the ad copies. The text usually comprises valuable information like “free shipping,” “24×7 customer support,” etc.

Call-to-Action: Call-to-Action is a piece of content that is intended to induce visitors an impulse to perform a specific act. Call-to-Action buttons include “Click Here,” “Download PDF,” “Buy Now,” etc.

Call Tracking: Call tracking is a form of conversion tracking which registers the number of calls (conversions) that resulted from call-only ad campaigns and ads with call extensions.

Campaign: A campaign is the first step in organizing a Google Ads account. A campaign is a set of several ad groups that share a collective budget and various other aspects such as conversion tracking, targeting, etc.

Campaign Status: Campaign Status indicates whether ads in a campaign are running or not. There are six different campaign statuses in Google Ads:






=>Limited by Budget

Card Verification Value (CVV): Card Verification Value is a three-digit security number. This number is found on the back of credit/debit cards. CVV is a must when setting up billing processes in Google Ads. Some banks refer to CVV as CVN (Card Verification Number).

Click: A click is when the cursor of the mouse deliberately clicks on the displayed ad and causes a redirection to the landing page. In Google Ads campaigns, users interact with an advertisement by clicking on it.

Click-through Rate (CTR): Click-through rate is the ratio of the number of clicks and impressions. It is expressed in percentages. The Click-through rate is a key performance indicator of both keywords and ads.

Consolidated Billing: Consolidated Billing is an option in Google Ads using which you can get a single invoice for your expenses across multiple Google Ads accounts. You will need to have an account with MCC (My Client Center) to enable consolidated billing.

Contextual Targeting: Contextual Targeting is a term popular in Google Display Network. It is a process that Google uses to match an advertiser’s ads to relevant websites in the display network. Google considers keywords, advertisement topics, and other factors to link ads to various sites.

Conversion Action: A conversion is an action that a customer takes which helps in your business growth. These actions can be a visit to your landing page, a phone call, filling up a form, adding an item to your cart, making a purchase, etc. Conversions are different for each advertiser. Read more about conversions in our Google Ads conversions blog.

Conversion Page: A Conversion Page is any page of your website that a user reaches after performing an action that is valuable to your business. A conversion page can be a landing page, a product page, a purchase confirmation page, etc.

Conversion Optimizer: Conversion Optimizer is a Google Ads feature that advertisers use to optimize their campaign budgets by getting more conversions for less cost. The conversion optimizer utilizes the historical conversion data to identify those auctions which might offer profitable clicks. It also avoids auctions that aren’t profitable.

Conversion Rate: Conversion Rate is the average number of conversions per click on an ad. It is expressed as a percentage.

Conversion Tracking: Conversion Tracking is a Google Ads tool that helps track and measure all the valuable actions your customers make after clicking on your Google Ads ad. Relevant conversions include sign-ups, purchases, etc. It is best if you understand what common mistakes to avoid when setting up a conversion tracking system for your business before you set one up.

Conversion Window: Conversion Window is the number of days after a click during which Google Ads still records conversion from that click. Advertisers get to choose the conversion window which Google Ads sets to 30 days by default.

Cookie: A cookie is a small file that websites you have visited save on your computer. Cookies are used by these sites to recognize you and your preferences.

Cost-per-Click (CPC): Cost-per-click is the price an advertiser pays to Google Google Ads for each click the advertiser get on their ad through the Google Ads platform.

Cost-per-Thousand Impressions (CPM): Cost-per-Thousand Impressions is the price an advertiser pays Google every time their advertisements on the Display network get 1,000 impressions.

Cost-per-View (CPV): Cost-per-View is the price an advertiser pays Google every time someone views one of their video ads.

Customer ID: Customer ID is a unique number associated with a user’s Google Ads account. It’s a 3-part number that can be shown in the top right corner of the Google Ads dashboard.


D-U-N-S Number: DUNS is short for Data Universal Numbering System. It is a nine-digit number that identifies different companies, businesses, and institutions across the world.

Daily Budget: Daily Budget is The highest amount of money you wish to spend on your ads across your campaigns each day.

Dayparting: Dayparting is a method of scheduling a time of the day or a day of the week when you want or don’t want to show your ads. Dayparting is nothing but Ad Scheduling.

Deep Link: Deep Link is a URL that redirects customers to specific pages on your mobile application.

Description Lines: Description Lines are lines in an ad that explain your product/service to the viewers. You can have up to 80 characters.

Destination URL: The destination URL, also called the final URL is the landing page URL to which your customers are taken to after they click on your ad.

Disapproved: Disapproved status of your ad means that you have violated one or many Google ad policies.

Display Network: Display Network consists of over two million websites, mobile apps, and videos where Google places your ads.

Display Partners: Display Partners websites are those websites on the Display Network that aren’t owned by Google, but they have partnered with Google to host ads for advertisers.

Display Planner: Display Planner is an in-built Google Ads tool using which you can decide the best placement for your display ads based on statistics and your business needs.

Display URL: Display URL is what you display to the users on your ads. It need not be the same as the final/destination URL. Display URL is used to maintain the aesthetics of the ad copy.

A destination URL can be….. But, to make it easier for the customers, we use a display URL


Eligible: Eligible is a status assigned to ads by Google. Ads that aren’t reviewed by Google fall under this status. Eligible ads are cleared to appear on search results. However, they won’t appear on display or on partner networks before the review.

End Date: The end Date is a setting that determines the length/duration of your campaign. Ads will stop after this date.

Enhanced CPC (ECPC): Enhanced Cost Per Click is a bidding option that lets Google adjust its bids. Google set bids higher (upt0 30%) when it discovers a better possibility of a conversion. Learn more about enhanced CPC in our blog.

Exact Match: Exact Match is a keyword match type. Keywords under exact match are very targeted. Customers who search using the exact keyword/phrase are eligible to see your ads. To set a keyword under Exact match, you have to wrap the keyword in square brackets [keyword]. Learn more about the exact match in our exact match guide.

Expanded Text Ads: Google launched Expanded Text Ads in 2017. This is the default format of text ads now. Expanded Text Ads have three main elements, two fields for headlines which have a limit of 30 characters each and one description line that has a limit of 80 characters. Display URL must be related to your Final URL. Advantages of expanded text ads are listed in our blog.

Expected CTR: Expected click-through rate is the measure of how probable your ads will get clicks for a particular keyword. It is one of the three significant factors in determining your quality score.


Family Status: Family Status is given by Google to all ads to indicate the audiences for whom the ads and corresponding websites are suitable for. There are three approval statuses:

=>Family Safe — Approved

=>Non-family safe — Approved (non-family)

=>Adult — Approved (adult)

These statuses affect your ads by determining the websites and countries where they can be shown.

Filter: Filters are a standard Google Ads feature that helps advertisers segregate and view data as per their requirement. Filters help customize data tables, charts, and reports.

First Page Bid Estimate: First Page Bid Estimate is the estimated bid that you have to set for your ads to appear on the first page of Google Search Engine Results Page. Google determines this bid based on the history of the keyword and competitors approximate bid.

First Position Bid Estimate: First Position Bid is similar to First Page Bid. However, First Position Bid is the bid to place your ads on the top/first position of the Search Engine Results page.

Flexible Bid Strategy: Flexible Bid Strategies are Google’s automatic budget allocation to help new advertisers adapt to Google Ads. Google allows the budget across the account (campaigns, ad groups, keywords) to maximize the performance. Flexible Bid Strategies are accessible from Shared Library where you can create and save custom strategies.

Frequency: Google defines Frequency as “the average number of times a unique user sees your ad in the first position over a given period”. Google by default will continue to show the same ad even if the user has seen it before. Google considers an ad viewable if more then 50% of are displayed for a second or longer for display ads and two seconds for video ads.

Frequency Capping: Frequency Capping allows advertisers to define the number of times their ads appear to the same person on Google’s Display Network.


Geo-Targeting: Geo-Targeting is a synonym for Location Targeting. It is an option where you can target audiences based on their location.

Global Site Tag: Global Site Tag is one of the conversion tags you need to include in your website’s code when setting up conversion tracking. Global Site Tag adds visitors to your remarketing lists and also sets different cookies on your domain. These cookies store information about the click that led the user to your website. You must include the Global Site Tag on every page of your website to get the best results.

Google Account: Google Account is your username and password which is common to different products of Google including Google Ads.

Google Forwarding Phone Number: Google Forwarding Phone Number is a contact/phone number that Google provides to be included in your ads. This number is unique, and it is used to track the ads of different advertisers. Google Forwarding Phone Number is vital for call-only ads and ads with call extensions.

Google My Business: Google My Business is one of the Google products that help advertisers create and manage their business listings. You can mark your businesses on Google Maps for customers to find you easily. There are numerous other benefits of having a Google My Business account.

Google Network: Google Network is an umbrella term for all those places where advertisers can host their ads. It includes Google-owned websites, websites of partners and various placements including mobile apps.

Google+ Brand Page: Google+ Brand Page is your business’s page on Google+ which holds information about your brand and it’s activity.


Headline: Headline is the very first line of your ads (text, image). A headline is what people see when looking at your ads. It best represents the purpose of your ad in a gist. Google has introduced Expanded Text Ads which allow advertisers to include two headlines (H1 and H2).

Historical Quality Score: Historical Quality Score is a component of Quality Score of keywords. Historical QS is a comparison of the keyword’s quality score over a period. The historical quality score is dependent on other parameters such as:

=>Ad Relevance (Historical)

=>Click-through Rate (Historical)

=>Landing Page Experience (Historical)


Image Ad: An image ad is a display ad type. It includes an image, a title, a description and your landing page URL (display URL is used instead of LP URL).

Impressions (Impr.): An impression is a count of the appearance of your ads. It is one of the KPIs in Google Ads. Impressions tell you the number of your ad was triggered by a keyword. Alternatively, impressions can be defined as the number of times users viewed your ads.

In-line Editing: In-line Editing is a Google Ads feature that lets you edit keywords, bid, placements and other variables from the display itself without having to go to setting page.

Interactions: An interaction is when a user performs an advertiser-defined action that is valuable to their business. It is an important KPI in Google Ads. These actions include clicks on ads, views on videos and more.

Invalid Clicks: Google marks some clicks which aren’t as genuine as Invalid Clicks. Clicks that are obtained by use of bots, software or accidental double-clicks are deemed invalid.

Inventory Filters: Inventory Filters help advertisers segregate products in the Merchant Center.

IP Address: IP Address is a unique number that every device connected to internet carries. Google Ads lets advertisers restrict their ads from showing to certain IP addresses which include family, friends or co-workers.


Keywords: Keywords are the building blocks of Google Ads campaigns. Keywords are words and phrases related to the products and services you are offering. Keywords cause your ads to trigger. Every time a user-search-query matches your choice of keywords, your ads are shown to the user. To select the best keywords for your business, use our keyword research guide.

Keyword Insertion: Keyword Insertion also called Dynamic Keyword Insertion is a Google Ads feature that modifies an ad’s text as per the search query entered by the user. A function that updates your ad text to include one of your keywords that matches a customer’s search term. All you need to do is add a Value Parameter in your text ad.

Keyword Matching Options: Keyword Matching Options is what we know as Keyword Match Types.

Keyword Mining: Keyword Mining is the practice of collecting business-relevant keywords from various sources. Either by using Keyword Planner, Search Term Reports from Google Ads or by using third-party tools such as AdNabu.

Keyword Planner: Keyword Planner is a keyword-finder tool. It is built into all Google Ads accounts. Keyword Planner helps advertisers estimate search volume of a keyword, estimated bid, and other essential metrics to select the best fit keywords.

Keyword Status: Keyword Status is an indicator of the keyword’s status. It can be approved, disapproved, paused or active.


Landing Page: Landing Page is one of the pages on your website that has content specific to that particular ad after clicking on which the user is redirected to that page. This page can contain product-specific/service-specific content to persuade the visitor to make a purchase or take action. Landing Page’s URL is also called the destination URL. Landing Optimization guide can help you design the best landing pages for your business.

Landing Page Experience: Landing Page Experience is an estimate that Google Ads uses to relate the relevance and usefulness of a website’s landing page to the search query, ad and for the people who click on the ad.

Language Targeting: Language Targeting is one of the primary options to target the right audience. Using Language Targeting, advertisers can select the language of the websites where their ads can be displayed.

Life Event Targeting: Life Event Targeting is an option exclusive to video ad campaigns in Google Ads. Life Event Targeting allows advertisers to reach users on YouTube and Gmail based on their purchase behavior shift and brand preference changes during significant events such as moving to a new place, graduating from college, getting engaged or a wedding.

Limited by Budget: Limited by Budget is an indication that alerts advertisers if their campaign budget is lower than Google Ads-recommended daily budget. Limit by Budget indicates that ads in that particular campaign are not showing up to the potential as the budget is exhausted.

Location Extensions: Location Extensions are one of the Google Ads ad extensions that provide additional information along with the fundamental insights that ads offer. Advertisers can include information about their store’s location using Location Extensions. Follow the simple steps to enable location extensions.

Location Targeting: Location Targeting allows advertisers to reach audiences from across the world depending on where they live. Advertisers can also negate locations they do not want to advertise at.

Location Options: Location Options is a Display-specific option that allows advertisers to take control of the locations they want to advertise. The default targeting is “people [in] or people who show [interest] in your target location”. However, advertisers can direct ads to ” people [in]” or “those who show [interest]”.

Low Search Volume: Low Search Volume is a keyword status. It alerts advertisers of how keywords are performing search-wise. If a keyword has low search volume, it means that the keywords have very few impression prompting that the choice of that keyword is poor/specific as not many users are searching using that keyword. Advertisers need not worry about it as long as the ROI is decent.


Managed Placements: Managed Placements allows advertisers to select websites, videos, and mobile apps of their interest specifically on Google Display Network. These placements are where Google shows ads to people. Managed Placements gives advertisers more control over the ads placements for different campaign types that support placements.

Manual Bidding: Manual Binding is when advertisers select the max. cost-per-click (CPC) of keywords and ad groups. Otherwise, advertisers can use automated bidding options which allow Google to adjust bids for maximum performance.

Manual Extensions: Manual Ad Extensions are those extensions that advertisers can set up manually.

Manual Payments: Manual Payments is a payment option where advertisers pre-pay the amount before their ads run. Google has manual payments live in only select-few countries.

Maximize Clicks: Maximize Clicks is an automated bid strategy which allows advertisers to optimize the budget of campaigns to gather maximum clicks.

Maximize Conversions: Maximize Conversions is an automated bidding strategy where advertisers to let Google optimize the campaign budget to get maximum conversions.

Maximum CPC Bid (Max CPC): Maximum CPC Bid (max cost-per-click) is the highest amount that advertisers are willing to pay for each click on their ad.

Mobile Ad: Mobile Ads are those advertisements that Google hosts on mobile phones and tablets.

Mobile Only: Mobile Only is an option where Google shows ads only on mobile devices.

Monthly Invoicing: Monthly Invoicing is a billing method which allows advertisers who have been using Google Ads for long to get credit from Google for their advertisements on Google Ads platform.

Multiple Sign-In: Multiple Sign-in is a feature across different Google platforms where users can add multiple accounts such as business and personal accounts to toggle easily.


Negative Keywords: Negative Keywords are a keyword type which prevents ads from showing for specific terms.

Negative Keyword List: Negative Keywords List is a list of all your negative keywords.

Networks: Networks are the different campaign types available in Google Ads. Advertisers can choose from five options such as Search, Display, Shopping, Universal App and Video.

Not Serving (video ads): Not Serving is an ad status for video ads whose headlines, descriptions or the content (video) don’t meet the standard policies of Google. Google, hence, disapproved those ads.

Not Yet Serving: (video ads): Not Yet Serving is an ad status for video ads which Google has not reviewed yet. This status is assigned right after the video ad is created.


Opening Images: Opening Images are frames or still images that users on video ads before they click to play them. Opening Images are similar to YouTube cover images. Opening Images should match the dimensions of the video you choose to upload. They should be catchy to the audiences. As they determine whether a user clicks on your video or not, they need to designed with utmost care to make your video ad campaigns successful.

Opportunities Tab: Previously known as the Opportunities Tab, it was one of the five main tabs on the homepage/dashboard of Google Ads. It has a list of suggestions for advertisers to better their campaigns. In the new Google Ads interface, Google changed Opportunities to Recommendations.

Organic Search Results: Online Organic Search Results are the results on the page of a search engine that show when a user enters a search query. Organic results are the ones for which no advertiser has paid for.

Overdelivery: Overdelivery is a term that defines a day’s ad Google Ads spend that is greater than your average budget (daily).

Overdelivery Credit: When there is an Overdelivery in an advertiser’s budget, Google adds credits which are called Overdelivery Credits.


Pacific Time (PST or PDT): Pacific Standard Time is the default time zone for Google Ads accounts.Unless advertisers edit, it remains the same. PST is 7 hours behind Greenwich Mean Time.

Parked Domain Site: Parked Domain Sites are the websites whose domains are already owned, but the website is empty. Advertisers cannot use such websites as Destination URLs in Google Ads.

Path Length: Path Length is the literary customers take before they reach the final conversion. Path Length has information of the clicks (including the final click) that lead to a conversion. Path Length reports include both clicks and impressions.

Paused: Paused is an ad status which indicated that ads are not currently running. Google does not charge advertisers for paused ads. They remain paused till advertisers choose otherwise.

Payment Method: Payment Method is how advertisers choose to pay Google for their spend on Google Ads.

Pending: Pending campaigns are those campaigns that Google is still processing, and their approval is pending.

Phrase Match: Phrase Match is a keyword match type setting in Google Ads. Phrase match lets a keyword trigger your ad to show whenever someone searches for that particular phrase. Learn more about phrase match in our phrase match guide.

Placements: Placements are different locations on Google Display Network where advertisers ads are shown to users.

Play Rate: Play Rate is a KPI for video ads. Google calculates Play Rate by diving the number of times ad was played to the number of times ad was shown. Play Rate is a measure of engagement like Clickthrough Rate.

Previous Visits: Previous Visits is an automatic ad extension in Google Ads. It lets users know if they have visited that website before.

Price Extensions: Price Extensions is a Google Ads feature that allows advertisers to include different products/services along with their prices and link to the product page in their ads.

Product Feed: Google Product Feed is information about all your products that you want to be listed on Google and partner sites. The feed has to be formatted for Google to crawl through easily and return one or more products as results for relevant search queries.

Product Group: A product group is a subset of your inventory. As an advertiser, you can group the products that fall under the same category, or of the same brand or any with any other similarity into product groups. In Google Shopping, advertisers bid on product groups. (Advertisers bid on keywords in search campaigns). All the products in a product group use the same bid as the product group.

Product Listing Ad: Ads for products listed in your merchant store that appear on the Search Network and Google Shopping result pages

Promotion Extension: Promotion Extensions is a Google Ads feature that allows advertisers to include sales and promotion along with their ads.


Quality Score: Quality Score is a number given to every keyword in Google Ads based on its performance in keyword auctions. It can vary from 1 to 10 & a good QS is on the upper half of the scale (QS > 5). Google determines the score by taking three different components into consideration, Click-through rate, Relevancy and Landing page quality.


Recommended Daily Budget: Recommended Daily Budget is a budget recommendation that Google gives to advertisers. It is a minimum budget that advertisers need to set for campaigns to perform on par with the competition.

Referral URL: Referral URL is the URL of the website from where the user is redirected to your website. Referral website is where ads are shown on Display Network.

Relevance: Relevance is one of the components of Quality Score. Relevance determines how well elements of an ad relates to what a user is searching for on Google.

Remarketing: Remarketing is a Google Ads feature which allows advertisers to reach customers who have visited their website.

Removed: Removed is an ad status which indicates that an ad has been manually removed from the campaign by the advertiser.

Return on Ad Spend (ROAS): Return on Ad Spend determines if campaigns are profitable or not. ROAS is the average value advertisers make for every dollar they spend on their ads.

Return on Ad Spend = Revenue / Ad Spend x 100

Return on Investment (ROI): Return on Investment is the total return advertisers make for all the money they spend on advertising on Google Ads.

Return on Investment = (Revenue – Cost of goods sold) / Cost of goods sold


Search Engine Results Page (SERP): Search Engine Results Page (SERP) is the page where the results of a search query are displayed. The most popular SERP is the Google search page.

Search Funnels: Search Funnels is a Google Ads tool which helps advertisers view the path user go through before they reach your website and make a conversion.

Search Network: Search Network is one of the six Google Ads networks. Search Network is made up of Google Search and Google Search Partners.

Search Partners: Search Partners are various websites that Google partners with to show ads.

Search Term (Search Query): Search Term/Search Query is the word/phrase that users type in the Google search bar. Search terms trigger advertisers keywords and corresponding ads.

Search Terms Report: Search Term Report is a Google Ads report that shows advertisers the list of search terms that triggered ads.

Search Query Report: Search Query Report is the same as Search Terms Report.

Segment: Segmentation is a way to adjust Google Google Ads and Analytics reports (tables & charts) to see data as per advertiser’s requirement.

Seller Ratings: Seller Rating is an automatic ad extension which shows users the rating of the seller whose ads they are seeing. Google complies this rating using data it collects from various business sources and user experience.

Serving (video ads): Serving is a video ad status in Google Ads which means that Google has approved the video ad and it is ready to be shown.

Shared Budget: Shared Budget is an option using which advertisers can distribute a single budget for different campaigns. Google allocates the budget to every active campaign.

Shopping Channel and Exclusivity: Shopping Channel and Exclusivity is a method of grouping products in Google Ads for shopping campaigns. Advertisers can group products based on places they sell the products (online or offline).

Short form and Long form Videos: Short form and Long form categorizes videos based on their length. Short-form videos are less than 10 minutes, and long-form videos are more than 10 minutes in length.

Sitelink Extension: Sitelink Extension is a Google Ads feature that allows advertisers to include links to various web pages, thus helping users to move to the relevant product page from the ads quickly.

Site Suspended: Site Suspended indicates that the destination/landing page URL of an ad or a keyword is violating Google’s policies and hence, Google has suspended that landing page.

Statistics Table: Statistics Table is the table in Google Ads that contain performance data.


Target CPA (Cost-per-acquisition) Bidding: Target CPA bidding allows advertisers to set a minimum bid amount they are willing to pay for a conversion.

Target Outranking Share: Target Outranking Share is a bidding strategy. Google adjusts bids so that ads outrank other ads of different domains on Search Network.

Target ROAS (Return on ad spend): Target ROAS is a smart-bidding strategy in Google Ads. Google uses data from conversion tracking to estimate possible conversions and their value.

Target Search Page Location: Target Search Page Location bid strategy allows Google to adjust bids and push ads to the top of the SERP or on the first page of SERP.

Targeting Group: Targeting Group is a list of YouTube search and displays keywords, placements, topics, and audiences interests that advertisers using to target their video ads.

Targeting Method: Targeting Method is how advertisers control the visibility of their display ads.

Text Ad: Text ads are the primary search ads in Google Ads.

Text Overlay Ad: Text Overlay Ads are text ads that Google shows along with video content on the Display Network.

Target CPA (Cost-per-acquisition) Bidding: Target CPA bidding allows advertisers to set a minimum bid amount they are willing to pay for a conversion.

Target Outranking Share: Target Outranking Share is a bidding strategy. Google adjusts bids so that ads outrank other ads of different domains on Search Network.

Target ROAS (Return on ad spend): Target ROAS is a smart-bidding strategy in Google Ads. Google uses data from conversion tracking to estimate possible conversions and their value.

Target Search Page Location: Target Search Page Location bid strategy allows Google to adjust bids and push ads to the top of the SERP or on the first page of SERP.

Targeting Group: Targeting Group is a list of YouTube search and displays keywords, placements, topics, and audiences interests that advertisers using to target their video ads.

Top of Page Bid Estimate: Top of Page Bid Estimate is the bid that advertisers need to set for Google to show their ads on the top of SERP.

TrueView Video Formats: TrueView Video Formats is a type of video ad where viewers can choose the ad they want to see.

Google offers two types of TrueView Video formats: In-stream video and in-display video.


Under Review: Under Review is a status which means that Google is still reviewing those ads.

URL: URL is the address of a web page on the internet (World Wide Web).

URL Parameter: URL Parameters are the tags on URLs that pass information about the origin of a click and other tracking information.


Video Publisher: Video Publisher is a Display Network Partner website that produces video-content. YouTube is one such video publisher.


Website Calls as Conversions: Website Calls as Conversion is an option where advertisers can set up their website code to communicate with Google every time someone visits their website. Google can track information like the origin of the click, keywords and more.

With Issues: With Issues is a video ad status which tells that Google has disapproved a video ad.


CEO and co founder of AdNabu. Exploring the intersection of data and marketing